MQM Sports & Recreation Wing's Annual Cricket Tournament Held in Philadelphia (Mar-28-2005)

Mayor John Street's Representative and Various Other Guests Appreciated the Activity

Four teams participated-- A Joint Philadelphia A & Washington DC, Philadelphia B, New Jersey and New York. After a hectic day of hard work the Philadelphia B team won the Championship and New Jersey team was placed at the second. Third place was taken by the New York team whereas the Philadelphia A team secured fourth position. The match started at 10:30 am in the morning and lasted until 6:00 pm. Around 3:00 pm MQM Philadelphia committee received visiting honorable guests Dr. Mahn Suh Park -- Chairman of the Asian American Federation as well as representative to the Hon. John Street Mayor of Philadelphia, Ms. Hae Yeon Baik, Esquire -- Vice President of the Advisory Board and Mr. Daniel Apokorin President of Russian Community Service Center.

Dr. Park congratulated the MQM Philadelphia unit who organized the championship and all the participants. Dr. Park also brought the congratulation messages from Hon. Mayor John Street, who was out of town at the moment. The MQM Philadelphia Unit in charge Ms. Uzma Azam thanked Dr. Park, Ms. Baik and Mr. Apokorin for their support of this Championship. MQM Philadelphia Unit member Mr. Mohammed Arshad Hussain who is also a member of the Asian American Federation introduced former federal minister Dr. Khalid Maqbool Siddiqi and former provisional minister Mr. Arif Siddiqi to Dr. Park and other honorable guests. More than a hundred family members and friends came to attend this annual cricketing gala championship and enjoyed a whole day of sports and picnic. At the end of the match, chief guest Ejaz Sabir, Attorney at Law awarded trophies to the champion and the runner teams.

At the end of the tournament MQM USA's central organizer called and congratulated MQM Philadelphia's unit for their continuous efforts in holding this annual event, especially he applauded the hard work put  on by the unit incharge Ms. Uzma Azam and all the committee members including Arshad Hussain and Mahfooz Hydari.